Thursday, September 18, 2008

Baby Steps are the way to start

I have noticed on Craig's List for a few weeks the link to this website:

http://www.earth4energy.com/index.php

Then this morning I went to KCRA's web site that had this link:

http://www.greentoolman.com/?gclid=CNCt0pi25ZUCFQykagod7WVBfA

The first time I looked at the Earth For Energy link I was skeptical to say the least sounded like a scam to get my fifty bucks. But after finding a review of it on Green Tool Man I am considering ordring and looking it over. Especially with a sixty day money back guarantee. The only real thing stopping me is that I live in a apartment and doubt I could set up a windmill off my roof since I don't have aback yard. I am considering ordering the package to just have it on hand when we do get a house. It would be a start at reducing my dependence on the utility company that I dislike almost as much as I dislike government.

I realize it would be a hodgepodge set of systems to produce the power we need as a family but if I can just power th lights in the house that would be a savings, and a way to start.

Good Morning All
Ottar

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Like Daddy Like Son

Last Reign it was No NEW Taxes! read my lips!
In the Reign of George the Dunce (did I misspell that?)
It was NO MORE GOVERNMENT BAILOUTS of failing companies
And we are expected to believe ANYTHING that comes out of his mouth? I have a real big issue with politicians and truth. Like if I say it I mean it. If a politician says it I figure they have their fingers crossed.

My thoughts on businesses that are failing because of the economy it is NOT the governments fault so why should they prop up a business that failed for any reason? Capitalism is a GAMBLE. You can have a run of hot dice for a long time but eventually it comes up snake eyes. If you have all your chips on the table YOU ARE SCREWED!!!! That is when its time to suck it up put on your big girl panties and drive on! Yes I draw a unemployment check currently. Hey guess what me and my employer BOTH paid into the account from the day I started working. That is why it is called unemployment INSURANCE. If I had not paid in to that I would not be eligible. I paid my taxes each and every paycheck. Have the FATCATS in Washington done anything to help me individually? HELL NO! My money comes from the Peoples Republic of California. Yet the companies that have needed bailing out lately are whining to the Federal Government to save there asses. SCREW THEM! DARWIN WAS RIGHT! Survival of the fittest does not neccessarily mean survival of the best, it means what it says FITTEST. I am not very fit, If I had to exert myself for my survival in a big way I would be dead or I would suck it up and do it anyway (I would pay for it in a bigway later). AIG needs to suck it up rather then feed at the trough. I am terrified if they go under, Stacie and my car is insured by them if they go bye bye we will need to find a new insurer (I wonder if there is any link to the GEICO ads we receive in the mail almost daily) but we would have to suck it up and deal. In my study of history it seems like every country that tries to be socialist FAILS and has to go to another system.

All right I have rambled enough for this afternoon
Please post comments so I know someone is reading and I am not praticing keyboard self pleasure.
Ottar

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Why I am PRO gun

I guess I am a little out of the loop here. I saw a video of an incident in Philadelphia from a few days ago of one person beating another with a hammer on a train.

http://abclocal.go.com/wpvi/story?section=news/local&id=6381527

So I followed up to find more video through CNN and then the link I included.

What concerns me is why do the fellow riders ignore what is going on? Why did they not stop it? I recall the HEROES on flight 93 did not turn a blind eye they did something about the attackers. If ONE person on that train had a concealed carry permit, and USED it, this crime would have been stopped right then right there and in my opinion should have been rewarded not prosecuted. Defense of others is considered a crime in the so called land of the free.
Many in my circle of friends believe that an openly carried sidearm with at least a six inch barrel should be legal. I agree with the thought. Although I think it should be any sidearm that is not easily concealed because I am .45 lover (1911 was a GOOD year) which is a subjective judgment. I am six feet four inches and over 300 pounds and have successfully concealed a full house .357 with a seven and 3/8 barrel while talking to cops at a late night coffee shop. While I had a friend who could not hide his .22 snub nose revolver (worthless POS(the alleged gun and the friend))
If just ONE citizen had done that and felt that the legal system would honestly evaluate the shoot he would have felt that he could stop the crime. Anyone remember Mr Getz (I dont remember the spelling just the name) also refered to as the subway vigilante? I can guarantee the person he killed threatened no more littler then he people with a screwdriver for their belongings. Kind of hard to threaten from a grave. Improves the species in my opinion especially if gotten to before they breed their genes back into my gene pool.
This is trigger for another thought that scares me.
Power is an aphrodisiac.
Gangsta's have power even if it is at the barrel of a gun.
Picture college well educated women being drawn to this power.
Picture the kids.
Extrapolate a few generations.
I will leave you with that chilling picture. Have a nice day!

Ottar

Sunday, September 7, 2008

Fannie and Freddie

I was surfing to CNN.com just a few minutes ago and there is a quick poll on the home page. It is "Will the U.S. takeover of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac stabilize the housing market?" My question on this is when has it happened when government took over anything that it brought stability to anything? That just gives an fat cat empire builder a new empire to try and build. I am not the only one who said no in that poll. As of 4:19 PM 09/07/2008 the response is:

Yes 29% 11143
No 71% 26819
Total Votes: 37962

Yet the voice of thew people is unheard in this bureaucratic take over not even a congressionally voted on spending or our dollars.
Yea Gods I am so sick of the responsibility factor of my elected officials.

NO MORE INCUMBENTS!!!

Ottar

comfort rations for our legislature

While they are hard at work doing nothing

http://sacramento.craigslist.org/zip/831440048.html

Saturday, September 6, 2008

Taken from the NPR website:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=94352031

Weekend Edition Saturday, September 6, 2008 · The government is preparing to takeover mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, according to reports in the Wall Street Journal and New York Times on Saturday. An announcement could come as early as this weekend.

According to sources quoted in the reports, the government is going to put the two companies in conservatorship under the control of the Federal Housing Finance Agency. Shareholders in the companies are likely to be wiped out, according to the newspapers, and the top management of the companies will ultimately be removed.

But the companies would continue to do business much has they have before, buying mortgages, packaging them into securities and selling them to investors.

Freddie and Fannie guarantee $5 trillion dollars worth of mortgages most of them prime. Housing market experts consider it an ominous sign to see those safer loans going bad.

The two companies have already reported billions of dollars in losses, and they're having trouble raising capital to cover future losses. Housing market watchers say that the economy just can't afford to have these companies fail; they are responsible for 70 percent of the mortgages. Doing so would essentially seize up the mortgage market.

What's in store for Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac? Both presidential candidates have expressed dissatisfaction with the companies in their current form. A common view is that the companies should be taken over by the government — as appears to be happening right now — and that over time the should be shrunk or broken up into small pieces and re-privatized as smaller companies.


Didn't this happen about 20 years ago in this country? But since it was the bottom dropping out of the value of properties that the Japanese bought in the US nobody seemed to scream too much about it. Now it is hitting us. Again I am not comfortable with the government taking over more and more aspects of my life. Maybe if we let them fail then the housing market will plummet and the fat cats with investments in real estate will have to actually work for a living and we the lowly ones may be able to actually afford to buy a house. Without having to go through a sub-prime bugger you in two years lender. Oh wait those are the types of folks who started this landslide of foreclosures didn't they.

Ottar yet again today















Health care cost issue

I was watching the news last night and saw a large protest of people complaining about the budget and how since there was no budget the medical providers had not been paid in a long time. What I am forced to wonder where in the constitution of either California or the US are there any guarantees for healthcare? The guarantees are there for it to be accessible but the cost is not on the government it is on the patient. I have been told by my family that I am cold and heartless with the thought I am about to share but I am a firm believer in Darwinism. If some one cannot afford the health care they need through insurance or personal funding where does it say that I need to pay for it? Let them live as long as they can and then bury them. I am as compassionate as I can be but I am sick to death of the whining people saying "If I dont get my dalysis I willdie so the state needs to pay for it". Fine you are on the public dole. If you die we no longer need to support you and we no longer need to listen to your whining. The unfortunate part of this scenario is that she will have bred her whiny ass genes into the gene pool already. Remember the "Forever War"? William's mother reached a certain age and was no longer allowed medical treatment. I wonder how long it would take to get out of the social security bind that we keep hearing about if we did that? If we let the people who can afford it get health care and the people who cannot afford it die then we will be breeding a people that think that success is a good thing. It works with traits you want to brred into a line of flowers, dogs, horses and even bacteria so why not do it to ourselves?

Probably an unpopular Ottar today

68 days and no budget

Thats kind of like me 59 days and no job. But this only effects me and my fiance and stepson not the populace of an entire state. And in this time of legislative ineptitude I saw on the news something about this last night. This sings of playing solitaire on company time to me. Here is the quote from Assemblyman Lieu's official website. The link is
http://democrats.assembly.ca.gov/members/a53/press/20080905AD53PR01.htm

The quote is:
(Sacramento, CA) – Assemblymember Ted Lieu (D-Torrance), Chair of the Asian Pacific Islander Legislative Caucus, issued the following statement:

“I am pleased the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) has come to its senses and rescinded its backwards policy of banning players who do not speak English. I believe the pressure from newspaper editorial boards and columnists, community groups, and the threat of legislative action all combined to force the LPGA to change its ways. However, until the LPGA issues its new policy, legislators, community groups, and the media should continue to be vigilant in monitoring LPGA’s actions.”

“Perhaps what is most disturbing is the LPGA’s stated reason for attempting to enact its English-only policy in the first place. The LPGA stated that its tour players need to bring in sponsorships by playing golf with corporate sponsors. Sports fans should be outraged that the LPGA is elevating a golf player’s ability to schmooze with corporate executives over the player’s ability to play golf. The LPGA needs a new business model where the focus is on a player’s athletic skills, not her social skills. Otherwise the association’s initials stand for nothing more than ‘Lets Put Golf Aside’ in favor of corporate money.”

Of course yesterday the legislature was not at work they just checked in so they could get their per diem for the day. Rather then do what we pay them to do, oh wait we do pay them for just checking in. I wonder if that would work in the private sector workplace?

Yet in this time of no budget they had time for important stuff like GOLF!!! Maybe I could understand if it was for more range time because if they keep up their current lack of work ethic they are probably going to need to be competent to shoot back. Ask the French how far the populace can be pushed before they revolt. (Not the modern French the peasents of the French revolution actually won)

Yet another pissed Ottar

Thursday, September 4, 2008

Bushland Bushland Uber Alles

I read this other Blog(Thanks Phil):

http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/archives/010537.html#010537

What happened to our rights as Americans to free speech and PEACEABLE assembly? Now I agree that the so called anarchist who are wantonly destroying property should be punished to the fullest extent under the law but those exercising the RIGHT of peaceable assembly guaranteed by the US constitution should be held up as martyrs. I believe it was TJ who said "The tree of liberty must be regularly watered by the blood of patriots". There are many things I do not find worthwhile but my freedom and liberty are worth giving my life for.
My opinion of the way law enforcement is handling the RNC is characterized by the title I have put on this rant. The law enforcement community has been in my opinion out of control for the last few years. If a riot is aimed at one thing then the response is appropriate, if aimed at another the response is overwhelming force. Non-violent protests and protesters are beaten down by the forces of law that we pay for with our taxes, while violent rock throwing nihlists are ignored. (notice the guy busting a window in the link) Kristallnacht is where a path we are treading with our government could end up unless we as a people stand up to oppression! Sacrifice for our freedom may be called for. As Peter Paul and Mary said in song "Have you been to jail for freedom"? If you are unwilling to put it on the line for your beliefs then why believe in anything?
Ottar

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

WOW I dont beleive I agree with Obama!!!!

With the ongoing noise coming from the RNC this week I have found myself agreeing with someone I never would have believed last week. WOW! I agree with Obama. So what if Palin's daughter is pregnant and not married? OK I may not agree with her choice but it is HERS and only HERS. No one has the right to make this choice for her. I agree with Obama that someones kids are not political footballs. Palin may be an antiabortion activist, again a subject I am a pro-choice believer in, but since my beleif is pro-choice I allow a choice to be made. We all make choices every day. If one of us chooses to have corn, then they pay for the back blasts (you know who you are). If we choose good or bad at least we make a choice, if you have the moral courage to stand by your choices more power to you! I stand by choices I make, and when I make an error I admit it. I am human I make mistakes (the midwest was one of them) I correct what I can, apologize as neccessary and go on with life. We should let this lady do the same. Criticise her mother for her acts as the VP if she is elected but DONOT give her daughter grief. I won't.