Tuesday, October 27, 2009

and you wonder why I dont respect the media?

First I am disgusted by the gang rape of the 15 year old recently. What frosts my ass more is the news people who act like the people watching and not calling the cops is new. What about that woman murdered in New Jersey in the 60's? 40 plus people watched her get murdered in the court yard and NO ONE called the cops or hollered out a window. This was a made for TV movie when I was in High School. There is nothing new under the sun, Happened before, was sensationalized on TV and now the talking heads seem surprised it happened again.

1 comment:

JD said...

The media has been feeding off of sensationalism since Hearst. I blame the continuation of the same idea that "kids now-a-days are worse than they've ever been" that has been present since the beginning of man.

The situation itself is horrible, I agree, but what's even worse, in my mind, is that this will be a "reflection" on today's society, when we live in a safer world than we ever have (check the statistics on child crime-rates; they're at an all-time low).

Okay, I'll get off of my pedestal now.