Sunday, December 27, 2009

What BULLSHIT!!!

I was watching TV today and saw a comercial for the WWF (wildlife not wrestling) and tey were appealing to us to stop global warming therebt saving the polar bears from extinction. OK so most of the yuppy types who have the disposable income for this cause drive SUV's. Like the Ford Exoedition. And they are the oly one in the vehicle. but that does not feed the WWF's coffers. You cannot criticize your bread and butter I guess

Ottar

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

What a difference a generation makes

What a difference a generation makes. When I was 15 and was grounded (9 months out of that year if memory serves me right). If I had called my mother and told her what I was going to do and I would let her know where I was when I got back in arms reach there would have been HELL TO PAY!!! I was never bruised but a open hand across my ass does not leave more the a red mark. And trust me it stings like a mother fucker for a few days. But today with the laws against disciplining your children that is the fastest way to end up in jail I can think of. AND THEN the BASTARDS have the unmitigated GALL to tell you that they cannot undo 15 years of no discipline. That’s a sure fire way to get a Viking who is also a Taurus very unhappy with the system that caused the problem in the first place. So the worthless piece of shit ran away most of last week and weekend and got grounded for his actions. He has already had all of his video games, entertainment devices and cell phone taken away due to his actions. Oh and guess what it is now vacation from school so he is stuck here and bored. Does he sack up and accept his punishment like a semi adult? Hell no its Tuesday and he has left again. With the incidence last week that put me in the ER overnight I NO LONGER CARE. If I don’t care he can’t hurt me again. Of course if I really didn’t care I would not be writing this. But I can simulate it. His Daddy Lisa who has known him since birth and taken care of him doesn’t care anymore either. Beerslayer who is the type of friend who would give you the shirt off his back if you needed it has written him off. The list grows each time he acts like this. But right now the only thing we can do when he pulls this shit is to tell the cops so we are not responsible for the stupid shit he may pull and we can document his actions so that 2 years 9 months and 8 days fr9om now we have a leg to stand on when we cast his ass out on the street, We tried to do our part but he refused to do his. Oh and by the way did I comment that he is half way through his sophomore year in high school and has so far only passed one class? No High School diploma and no place to live in just a couple years. Can you say a guest of the state?

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Not Mine borrowed from a friends Facebook posting

I stole this from Phil who borrowed it from a friend just so you don't think it is mine!
+
This is like something out of Kafka.

**************************
***********

It's not often that an appellate court decision reflects so vividly what a country has become, but such is the case with yesterday's ruling by the Second Circuit Court of Appeals in Arar v. Ashcroft (.pdf). Maher Arar is both a Canadian and Syrian citizen of Syrian descent. A telecommunications engineer and graduate of Montreal's McGill University, he has lived in Canada since he's 17 years old. In 2002, he was returning home to Canada from vacation when, on a stopover at JFK Airport, he was (a) detained by U.S. officials, (b) accused of being a Terrorist, (c) held for two weeks incommunicado and without access to counsel while he was abusively interrogated, and then (d) was "rendered" -- despite his pleas that he would be tortured -- to Syria, to be interrogated and tortured. He remained in Syria for the next 10 months under the most brutal and inhumane conditions imaginable, where he was repeatedly tortured. Everyone acknowledges that Arar was never involved with Terrorism and was guilty of nothing.

In January, 2007, the Canadian Prime Minister publicly apologized to Arar for the role Canada played in these events, and the Canadian government paid him $9 million in compensation. That was preceded by a full investigation by Canadian authorities and the public disclosure of a detailed report which concluded "categorically that there is no evidence to indicate that Mr. Arar has committed any offense or that his activities constituted a threat to the security of Canada." By stark and very revealing contrast, the U.S. Government has never admitted any wrongdoing or even spoken publicly about what it did; to the contrary, it repeatedly insisted that courts were barred from examining the conduct of government officials because what we did to Arar involves "state secrets" and because courts should not interfere in the actions of the Executive where national security is involved.

Yesterday, the Second Circuit -- by a vote of 7-4 -- agreed with the government and dismissed Arar's case in its entirety. It held that even if the government violated Arar's Constitutional rights as well as statutes banning participation in torture, he still has no right to sue for what was done to him. Why? Because "providing a damages remedy against senior officials who implement an extraordinary rendition policy would enmesh the courts ineluctably in an assessment of the validity of the rationale of that policy and its implementation in this particular case, matters that directly affect significant diplomatic and national security concerns" (p. 39). In other words, government officials are free to do anything they want in the national security context -- even violate the law and purposely cause someone to be tortured -- and courts should honor and defer to their actions by refusing to scrutinize them.



When the history of the Second Circuit is written, the Arar decision will have a prominent place. It offers all the historical foresight of Dred Scott, in which the Court rallied to the cause of slavery, and all the commitment to constitutional principle of the Slaughter-House Cases, in which the Fourteenth Amendment was eviscerated. The Court that once affirmed that those who torture are the “enemies of all mankind” now tells us that U.S. government officials can torture without worry, because the security of our state might some day depend upon it.

I want to add one principal point to all of this. This is precisely how the character of a country becomes fundamentally degraded when it becomes a state in permanent war. So continuous are the inhumane and brutal acts of government leaders that the citizens completely lose the capacity for moral outrage and horror.

http://utdocuments.blogspot.com/2009/11/blog-post.html

http://www.salon.com/news/opinion/glenn_greenwald/2009/11/03/arar/index.html


********************************************************

In "The Trial" Kafka tells of a man who is arrested, tried, and executed without ever knowing the crime that he is charged with.


We aren't there yet...but you can see it from here.

Friday, October 30, 2009

They stole New Years

Why are the New Kids so bitchy about Halloween? In BC times it was New Years this weekend and them newcomers stole pagan traditions for their so called NEW holiday. Among many other holidays that predate them new kids, OK Mothers day doesn't but think about it the Goddess is known in more then one aspect as the all-mother. Time to steal from them!

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

and you wonder why I dont respect the media?

First I am disgusted by the gang rape of the 15 year old recently. What frosts my ass more is the news people who act like the people watching and not calling the cops is new. What about that woman murdered in New Jersey in the 60's? 40 plus people watched her get murdered in the court yard and NO ONE called the cops or hollered out a window. This was a made for TV movie when I was in High School. There is nothing new under the sun, Happened before, was sensationalized on TV and now the talking heads seem surprised it happened again.

Monday, October 26, 2009

Why?

Public transportation like bus and light rail are there for three basic types. Those too poor to afford a vehicle, those who are more "green" who would like to reduce their carbon footprint and those who do not want the congestion on their commute. But it is there, when I lived in Kansas there was no public transit and if you did not have a car you walked or bummed rides. Or used your riding lawn mower. When I moved back to Sacramento I bought a bus pass because I lost my license in Kansas. It was about $45.00 per month which was a hefty bite out of my cash flow but with budgeting I was able to get one every month. Now I live in Placer county so to get to school I would need to buy a ride from Placer county for $ 2.50 for a 24 hour pass to get to the transfer to Sacramento county station where it would cost me either $2.50 for a one way pass or $6.00 for a 24 hour pass. That would get me down to the Sunrise light rail where if I bought a 24 hour pass I could ride down to Rancho Cordova city hall which is right by the school. That would take me a couple hours by my math. The return at 9:30 is shorter but it only will get me back to sunrise mall. IF I get out of school in time to catch the bus by 9:53 with class getting out at 9:20, on a good night.
So what I am asking is why are the powers that be making it so damn hard on people in the tree categories I listed? Lets talk about the working poor first off. They cannot afford a car and live in South Sacramento ( Not meant as a racist statement but it does sound like it) and works at someplace up by Arden Fair. So they need to start going to work about two hours earlier then co-workers who drive to work. Then if they are lucky and no breakdowns occur and no missed transfers (which are no longer free, thank you budget cuts) they get to work in two hours. Then they work their assigned shift, most time it is eight hours with an hour lunch. They then make the two hour commute home. By my math that is 13 hours. If they weren't working a minimum wage job they might be able to afford a car to get to work but the vagaries of the bus system makes them at risk for missed connections and breakdowns on our oh so well maintained transit buses. Then since they are not reliable they lose the job, and I know how hard it is to get one in this day and age.
I have another friend who rides the light rail downtown to her job on days she works. Read that as non-furlough days that Arnie allows his people to work since his legislature cannot make a budget in what was at one time the fifth largest economy in the world. She is a fortunate one it is by choice not necessity. But to avoid the hassle of driving and parking downtown she still has to have a vehicle with all the expenses that come with one, such as insurance, registration, maintenance and gas. It may be a convenience for public transit but it still ain't cheap. In time or money. Of course while they are on the train or bus most people can do other productive things. I read it makes the trip pass faster.
So we get back to my original question. Why do the lowest economic strata get the shaft like this? Yet if you are a member of one of the higher strata's things happen easier. Is it because the working poor don't donate to the politicians since they are struggling to put food on the table? Or is it a more sinister plan like the English in Ireland back in the late 1800's? Of course if we drive the working poor out of California who will wash our cars and cook our food? You know I have a fifteen year old who won't think about what happens tomorrow either. Why should I expect our politicians to be more mature?

Sunday, October 18, 2009

Maybe I was a little bit wrong.

At least you have a job was my mantra. Back 10 years ago my mantra was if you work for the state (of California) your rice bowl was full for life. And then today I hear from one of my friends who worked for the state is going to look at a rental because they are losing the house they are buying. I gave J the battle cry for today "Screw you Unka Arnie.. with rusty barb wire op the 'ol poop chute". He has been screwed out of his home by the budget cut furlough days. It's not like he was a base level employee. He is an engineer in his department. But he was fucked by furlough. Yet we as a state are still paying for heart transplants for illegal aliens. I wonder if we looked at how much the cost is for medical compared to how much we saved by furloughing state workers how many days they paid for.
And now they have screwed with their prescription benefit which will cost them 3 times as much for some medications that people need to live. Of course to pay for their mortgage they can stop taking the med thereby saving the state more money when they no longer can work without that med. And then costing the state more money by getting the house foreclosed on and that tax revenue no longer in the states coffers. Oh and another foreclosed house on the block lowers the property values of the rest of the houses on the block. Domino effect. So she still has to buy the meds at this new rate that Calpers has negotiated with their health care provider to save a few bucks per employee. So she still can keep her house. She will have to economize on something else now.
I wonder how both families will do. I thought my economic status sucked but it sucks for all of us and we all have to figure out what to do next. I keep looking for work and economizing where ever possible. And like today filing another EDD claim form for another two weeks pay. Oh and by the way your Majesty, thanks for another 14 weeks of benefits.

Ottar
who feels the pain of us all
But I am not ready to advocate revolution yet.
Lets give Obama a chance. He got voted in at a horrible time so give him a chance.
Could have been worse. Could be McCain.

Thursday, October 15, 2009

Since the Government won't or can't help

Maybe we the people of this city should show compassion for those who live in other then a house or apartment. By the grace of the gods one of us could be next.

Homeless people in Sacramento for whom there are no shelters are living outside, as best they can. Local ordinances prohibit camping on public property but permit homeless persons to camp on private property, with the consent of the owner of the property, for not more than one consecutive night.

Recently, a private property owner allowed homeless people to camp on his property. The campers were not told by police that they had to leave until they had spent two nights on the property, then they were arrested. These homeless persons are now exposed to the elements and have been told by city police that they cannot even stay under the city’s bridges without being arrested.

We need safe places for the homeless folks to go.

We are asking owners of empty lots, parking lots and any other unused space to permit homeless campers to pitch tents on their property for ONE NIGHT. The “campers” will clean up the property and leave it in better condition than they found it; a porta-potty will be provided. The “campers” will then move to the next property owner’s property where they will pitch their tents, again, for ONE NIGHT.

We hope to establish a series of vacant lots and unused parking lots, where people will come and camp for one night at a time on a rotating basis. Your generosity will highlight the plight of the homeless and help convince the city and county that special, temporary areas should be designated where homeless people can “camp” or live until adequate housing can be arranged or alternatively to place a moratorium on enforcement of the “no camping” ordinance. You will be doing a mitzvah if you step up and offer your lot for this very worthy effort.

Questions? Call or email Mark Merin Esq. 916-443-6911, mark@markmerin.com or Joan Burke at Loaves & Fishes 446-0874; advocate4loaves@yahoo.com

Please forward this request on to your friends. They might have a usable lot or know of someone who does.

Mark E. Merin, Esq.
Law Office of Mark E. Merin
2001 P Street, Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95814

Telephone: 916/443-6911
Email: mark@markmerin.com

or

Joan Burke
Director of Advocacy
Loaves & Fishes
P O Box 2161
Sacramento, CA 95812
(916) 446-0874
advocate4loaves@yahoo.com
www.sacloaves.org

www.safegroundsac.org or www.sacloaves.org/safeground

Thursday, October 8, 2009

Another year of guilt.


Will it ever get be put to rest? I know I deserve it but is it not bad enough that I have felt terrible for 15 years now? I am trying to atone for my error 15 years ago. I MADE A MITAKE. I am trying to live it down and redo the past.
And today as you left you asked if you were going to return to find a key and a check on the table. I do not know how to convince you this is not the case. I LOVE you and am going to spend the rest of my life with you. Good and bad parts. In the past year and a half their have been both. We grow closer every day through everything life throws at us. Even without the states blessing you ARE my wife. Until you toss my shoes you are not getting rid of me.

I Love You
Ottar

Monday, September 21, 2009

I knew I disliked Mao Mart

http://www.azcentral.com/community/peoria/articles/2009/09/17/20090917gl-peowalmart0917-ON.html

http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/arizona-couple-suing-bathtime-photos-prompt-wal-mart/story?id=8624533

A couple in Peoria Arizona a suburb in the northwest wart of phoenix had some pictures printed. These included family bath time pictures with their three young daughters aged 5,4, and 1&1/2. A Mao Mart employee turned the photos in to the police. As a result of this both child en were removed from their parents custody, both parents were put on a sexual offenders list. The mother was suspended for a year from her job at the local school. And so far they have spent $75.000 on legal fees.

And all this was without the conviction needed to say they are guilty. As a matter of fact when the judge saw the photos he dismissed the case. There was NO SEXUAL COMPONENT in the pictures. Most parents have pictures of their offspring at bath time (ask Stacie about a bath and a measuring cup with Stephen). That is wrong. I would be doing more then suing walmart over this. I wont go into details at the risk of being on another government list. Again what has happened in this country? People are considered guilty without being convicted, case in point here in California is Garriddo who even I think is guilty. Their lives are ruined even if they get their children back and jobs reinstated.

Once information is out there there is no recalling it. His family will always be under this stigmata. No matter what happens to him in the news it will always be brought up. Mr Demaree who has won the Arizona sportsman of the year for 2020 was once under suspicion of child pornography. Bam another hit.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

A sad passing

When I think back to when I was about 8 years old singing songs around the campfire the song I remember singing the most was "500 Miles" by Peter, Paul and Mary. And today it comes on the news that Mary Travers lost her fight against Leukemia today. She passed from side effects from a bone marrow transplant that was part of that fight. She lived a full life and performed at legendary venues. They performed "If I Had a Hammer" at the 1963 march on Washington where Dr Martin Luther King gave his I have a dream speech. An event that she could put on her resume and show the God's that she lived a life that gave back to the world. I for one will be mourning her passing today.

Ottar

Monday, September 14, 2009

Another Bullshit law

Since I have been away from California for many years I did not know about the rues to have a Handgun Safety Certificate before purchasing a handgun. I just found out that rather then pay a $1.00 fee it was available on line. You still have to pay $25.00 to take the test and of 30 questions you can only miss 7. So that means the state considers you safe if you get a 76.6%. Wow makes me feel safe. Just by the way I handled the .41 magnum revolver he was showing me he assured me the test would be just a formality. Huh? common sense and almost half a century of handling guns would teach me something? Go figure. If any one who reads this blog wants a PDF copy of the study guide I have it on my computer. If you read this you probably have an email address and I would be happy to forward it to you. If you have my email address let me know and I will send it to you. If not leave a comment on this blog with your email address and I will send it to you.

But getting back to the title I chose. I am strongly against the government getting into my or anyone elses' affairs. If I am having an affair none of their damn business. But I do kind of support making someone prove that they have at least SOME knowledge of handgun safety. I mean how many times a year does the news report that some kid was looking at or even worse showing daddy's (or mommy's let's not be sexist) "unloaded" gun to his friends and an accidental discharge causes pain, suffering or even death to one of the crowd? I find that the adult who put the gun away was remiss in their actions. NOT that it was where a child could get at the gun, a gun you cannot get to is a worthless investment in your and your families safety. They are remiss in NOT teaching the child about why and how to handle a gun safely! The best public service announcement I have heard in recent years was telling kids if they see a gun no matter where it is that they SHOULD NOT TOUCH IT AND IMMEDIATELY TELL A RESPONSIBLE ADULT! What a damned brilliant idea? I know my kids were raised with me having guns in my house. I did not let them handle them except under controlled conditions. Most ammo was locked in a separate area. My handgun was loaded and in my nightstand. 5 in the cylinder and a empty chamber, The shotgun was full with double ought buck and slug rounds alternating. I had a box of pistol rounds in my nightstand and a bandoleer of 12 ga attached to the shotgun. They were unlocked and accessible. My children were aware that touching them was not just a swat on the wrist. It was a turn them over my knee and spank there asses hard offense. Then we were out learning to shoot when they were about 7 or 8. They stopped listening and got stupid. Kids and there attention spans so we took a break. When we got back on line a few minutes later a ground squirrel popped up to see what we were doing. I pulled my pistol and since he was down range I shot the little plaque rat. 50 meter shot with a pistol, hit the bugger. I then sent my son to go get it. They never played around with guns after that, they knew what they could do. They are NOT afraid of guns but they are respectful.

OK I am done ranting about how people should be responsible. If you read this your of the same mindset. If your not no amount of rationalization will find its way into your mind.
Ottar

What tips me off

The ad is:

Customer Service & Management- TRAINING PROVIDED! (Sacramento)


Date: 2009-09-13, 7:48PM PDT
Reply to: momentum.advertising@gmail.com [Errors when replying to ads?]


Customer Service Reps needed for Event Marketing and Promotions



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR AN EXCITING CAREER?

ARE YOU READY TO GET STARTED RIGHT AWAY?


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


MOMENTUM ADVERTISING currently has openings in entry level marketing, public relations, customer service and event promotions. With our continued growth, we are currently looking for new, energetic and motivated individuals that are looking to start or advance their career.

We are an event marketing & advertising firm located in Sacramento. We represent a variety of clients both locally and nationlally. Our event portfolio consists of clients in a wide variety of industries, some even in the non profit industry!



NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY! FULL TRAINING IS PROVIDED!



Requirements

*Individuals must be hard working, motivated and willing to learn
*Must have excellent communication skills, be goal-oriented and ambitious
*Willing to be trained in sales, customer service, campaign management, test market development and public relations



If you’re ready for a challenging career, RAPID ADVANCEMENT and a team oriented environment, WE WANT TO HEAR FROM YOU!



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HERE IS HOW TO APPLY:

PASTE resume into an email and send to momentum.advertising@gmail.com. There will be no attachments opened!



OK here is why I felt this was a scam right off the bat. The email address was a Gmail account. That has been my first tip off. Most legitimate companies have there own domain. Hey it's cheap to buy a domain from Godaddy.com so that is my first clue. If that was not enough blatantly misspelled words in the ad that show up under spell check are another clue to me. Then I put the company name in google, in this case momentum advertising Sacramento and came up with several hits, And the fourth one was Ripoffreport.com. And here is the link to what they said:

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Employers/Logistics-Advertisin/logistics-advertising-moment-3zca2.htm

So my nose appears to be right on sniffing out scams. Please do a little research before you give the bastards your info. If I hadn't done research I am getting so desperate I would have sent them my resume which has a Norse Butt Load of personal information that could be used to scam other information out of previous employers. That idea makes me wake up with a cold shivers in the middle of the night,

Ottar
Doing his part against the forces of darkness in the universe

Sunday, September 13, 2009

The Supreme Court is pissing me off

OK I agree that California prisons are severally overcrowded. But the federal government has stepped in and ordered our state to reduce this overcrowding. Of course they do not provide any funding to assist us in following their orders. Of course when we the people of California want to remove entirely one category of offender (marijuana laws) we are in violation of federal statutes. So we overcrowd our prisons at state expense with convicts we the people have decided have not committed an offense. And when we request a delay in lowering our prison population they say "NO". So we will have to let some inmates go early.

Does this make sense to you? Maybe I am not very politically astute but back in Kansas that was sold by the truckload to fertilize the back 40. That makes as much sense as making the "no child left behind" law and then not funding the federally mandated program. That is bad as me telling my wife we are having steak for dinner tonight and not giving her food money. (sorry Stacie that was hyperbole we know you get all my money)

Now, with the feds unwilling to act we must release prisoners. We as the people of California have had our faces rubbed in how efficient our law enforcement and bureau of prisons is (remember Garriddo(SP?)?). So we may have a huge influx of criminals. In today's economy with people (like yours truly) unable to find work. How will the people who traditionally been unable to find work because of a record in prison survive? Falling back to old ways. Preying on the law abiding members of society. And they are safe in doing so because it is against the law to protect your life and property with deadly force. I again stand by my statement "I would rather be judged by 12 the carried by 6" (OK they would have to be strong).

So I wonder how many times a Californian was in genuine fear for his life or limb and shot one of those bastards (2 in the head one in the chest to be sure) will it take before we can get the law changed? I know one state law maker had a bill making it easier to get a carried concealed weapon permit. Don't know where it went from there. But knowing the pantie waisted law makers we have in this state it went in the trash. Contact your lawmakers and get the word to them. If they don't know that the constituents are pissed about a subject they won't act on it. Ted Gaines knows me by name just not by face unless the men in black have given him pictures from their surveillance.

Ottar
who may be a little bit reactive on this subject but someone needs to be

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Another Scam warning


Fortunately I am real antsy about even applying any more so I did some research first. Here is the link off of Craig's List:

http://sacramento.craigslist.org/sls/1370971615.html

Here is what i found out about Lotus Junction:

http://rre.umbstyle.com/1921.html

OK someone needs to do something about these scammers. I am doing my part by warning people who read my blog. Please research ANY chance to apply for anything off the web. I have been scammed to many times! If you aren't convinced contact me and I will check. If I find its a scam I will tell you. if its not a scam I will let you know. We need to do something about these scamming bastards. Since it is a 800 number they get charged for every call made. Call them a few times a day and use the wrong number excuse. Or keep them on the line for a few minutes and add up the charges. Even better Google tells me that it is a cell phone so the bastard will be using minutes. I advise using *67 to block caller ID from your phone so they do not have YOUR number to hit you back.

Ottar
Who would really like to do unto them

Friday, September 11, 2009

In honor of Flt. 93 "Lets Roll"

I received an email from a fellow SCA member and a good friend. It is a good rant on what today should mean. Today is a day for the victims to be remembered. It is not a day to dwell on the many sacrifices made by the soldiers fighting in Iraq. (and the Gods know I have been to enough military funerals over the course of this war) and for those of a warrior mindset to remember the true heroes of that day. The ones who laid it on the line to take down flight 93. I cannot listen Dusty Drakes song "One Last Time"without tearing up even today 8 years after.My daughter and I were driving in Kansas when this came up on the CD player and we had to pull off the road till we could see again(Ottar crying to hard). Moving song. Look it up on itunes or youtube, and listen to it I dare ya. Any way back to the rant I received and am sharing his thoughts and today is the day that it is right they be shared. Names have been edited to protect who said what. Those who were there know who XXXX and YYYY are and those who weren't it is not relevant to the point being made.

Let's Roll
Ottar
who gives himself permission to do a stupid thing for a good cause.

I would like to point out an incident from last night(tuesday 9/8/20009.ottar) which I felt was very inappropriate. When XXXX (I assume that's spelled right) got up and started talking about "remembering the soldiers and what they're fighting for" in the next few days, I started thinking "is Veteran's Day coming up already??" When I realized he was talking about Sept. 11, I couldn't believe that he was connecting the al Qaeda terrorist attacks on America with the invasion of Iraq . What really irritated me was XXX talked only about the soldier's sacrifice in connection with 9/11, and it was YYYY (I probably didn't spell that right either) who added in the comment about "and remember the families who died on 9/11 too!"
That is horribly disrespectful to the people killed on 9/11.
Sept. 11 is SOLELY about the people who died on 9/11 in the terrorist attacks on the US ; you do not use that event to honor any dead people from any other unrelated event, and you certainly don't put the people killed on 9/11 at second place!!
Using 9/11 to honor the dead soldiers from the current conquest of Iraq makes about as much sense as honoring the minutemen from the revolutionary war on 9/11. It's absurd.
The claim used to justify the conquest of Iraq was that they had weapons of mass destruction and they were going to attack the US . I will gladly go to YouTube and show anyone and everyone the footage of Bush saying "we have no evidence connecting Saddam to 9/11".
If XXXX wants to make a proclamation in honor of the soldiers at every SCA event because he feels it's important, then that's fine. If he wants to make one every day, that's fine too. But NO ONE has the right to take the anniversary of the terrorist attacks and lump it with the soldiers and what they go through in Iraq . And it's even worse when someone puts the victims in second place. That is disrespectful to the people who were killed on 9/11.
They need their own day, so SHUT-UP and let them have it.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Obama's Speech 9/8/2009

Oh My Gawdah!!!
OK today at 9:00 AM California time President Obama is going to give a speech that is supposed to be watched in schools. People are bitching about this. OK I remember when the pilot for Battlestar Galactica was going to be on a sunday night. I was at a civil war reenactment battle down on the Grapevine (almost LA for those who live out of CA). We left early to get back in time to see the pilot (Sci-Fi freaks have priorities after all). With traffic we realized we were not going to make it back to Fresno in time so we stopped at the drivers mothers house in Tulare to watch the pilot. Be advised this was before the VCR, almost before cable. So we were siting in the living room getting ready to watch the show when the programming was preempted and we had to listen to Jimmy Carter. We bitched but the network paused the show so we didn't miss the pilot.

Now school districts are allowing parents to opt-out of allowing their kids to watch it if it is too controversial. OH FREAKING WOW!!! Toe the party line little Johnny. I'm sorry we can't see Flipper today Jeff! (again extra points for getting the reference) If something is controversial it should spark debate, derision after knowing what it is. NOT knee jerk reactions because the speaker is not of your political party. Are we coming back to the conservative days? Will I need to get a haircut? Long pants? I draw the line at listening to Rush. I am a blunderite not a dittohead. (A blunderite is into Arlo Guthrie). But seriously isn't that the purpose of school? Not to create cloned heads but to generate thinking heads.

The speech is:
Prepared Remarks of President Barack Obama
Back to School Event

Arlington, Virginia
September 8, 2009

The President: Hello everyone – how’s everybody doing today? I’m here with students at Wakefield High School in Arlington, Virginia. And we’ve got students tuning in from all across America, kindergarten through twelfth grade. I’m glad you all could join us today.
I know that for many of you, today is the first day of school. And for those of you in kindergarten, or starting middle or high school, it’s your first day in a new school, so it’s understandable if you’re a little nervous. I imagine there are some seniors out there who are feeling pretty good right now, with just one more year to go. And no matter what grade you’re in, some of you are probably wishing it were still summer, and you could’ve stayed in bed just a little longer this morning.
I know that feeling. When I was young, my family lived in Indonesia for a few years, and my mother didn’t have the money to send me where all the American kids went to school. So she decided to teach me extra lessons herself, Monday through Friday – at 4:30 in the morning.
Now I wasn’t too happy about getting up that early. A lot of times, I’d fall asleep right there at the kitchen table. But whenever I’d complain, my mother would just give me one of those looks and say, "This is no picnic for me either, buster."
So I know some of you are still adjusting to being back at school. But I’m here today because I have something important to discuss with you. I’m here because I want to talk with you about your education and what’s expected of all of you in this new school year.
Now I’ve given a lot of speeches about education. And I’ve talked a lot about responsibility.
I’ve talked about your teachers’ responsibility for inspiring you, and pushing you to learn.
I’ve talked about your parents’ responsibility for making sure you stay on track, and get your homework done, and don’t spend every waking hour in front of the TV or with that Xbox.
I’ve talked a lot about your government’s responsibility for setting high standards, supporting teachers and principals, and turning around schools that aren’t working where students aren’t getting the opportunities they deserve.
But at the end of the day, we can have the most dedicated teachers, the most supportive parents, and the best schools in the world – and none of it will matter unless all of you fulfill your responsibilities. Unless you show up to those schools; pay attention to those teachers; listen to your parents, grandparents and other adults; and put in the hard work it takes to succeed.
And that’s what I want to focus on today: the responsibility each of you has for your education. I want to start with the responsibility you have to yourself.
Every single one of you has something you’re good at. Every single one of you has something to offer. And you have a responsibility to yourself to discover what that is. That’s the opportunity an education can provide.
Maybe you could be a good writer – maybe even good enough to write a book or articles in a newspaper – but you might not know it until you write a paper for your English class. Maybe you could be an innovator or an inventor – maybe even good enough to come up with the next iPhone or a new medicine or vaccine – but you might not know it until you do a project for your science class. Maybe you could be a mayor or a Senator or a Supreme Court Justice, but you might not know that until you join student government or the debate team.
And no matter what you want to do with your life – I guarantee that you’ll need an education to do it. You want to be a doctor, or a teacher, or a police officer? You want to be a nurse or an architect, a lawyer or a member of our military? You’re going to need a good education for every single one of those careers. You can’t drop out of school and just drop into a good job. You’ve got to work for it and train for it and learn for it.
And this isn’t just important for your own life and your own future. What you make of your education will decide nothing less than the future of this country. What you’re learning in school today will determine whether we as a nation can meet our greatest challenges in the future.
You’ll need the knowledge and problem-solving skills you learn in science and math to cure diseases like cancer and AIDS, and to develop new energy technologies and protect our environment. You’ll need the insights and critical thinking skills you gain in history and social studies to fight poverty and homelessness, crime and discrimination, and make our nation more fair and more free. You’ll need the creativity and ingenuity you develop in all your classes to build new companies that will create new jobs and boost our economy.
We need every single one of you to develop your talents, skills and intellect so you can help solve our most difficult problems. If you don’t do that – if you quit on school – you’re not just quitting on yourself, you’re quitting on your country.
Now I know it’s not always easy to do well in school. I know a lot of you have challenges in your lives right now that can make it hard to focus on your schoolwork.
I get it. I know what that’s like. My father left my family when I was two years old, and I was raised by a single mother who struggled at times to pay the bills and wasn’t always able to give us things the other kids had. There were times when I missed having a father in my life. There were times when I was lonely and felt like I didn’t fit in.
So I wasn’t always as focused as I should have been. I did some things I’m not proud of, and got in more trouble than I should have. And my life could have easily taken a turn for the worse.
But I was fortunate. I got a lot of second chances and had the opportunity to go to college, and law school, and follow my dreams. My wife, our First Lady Michelle Obama, has a similar story. Neither of her parents had gone to college, and they didn’t have much. But they worked hard, and she worked hard, so that she could go to the best schools in this country.
Some of you might not have those advantages. Maybe you don’t have adults in your life who give you the support that you need. Maybe someone in your family has lost their job, and there’s not enough money to go around. Maybe you live in a neighborhood where you don’t feel safe, or have friends who are pressuring you to do things you know aren’t right.
But at the end of the day, the circumstances of your life – what you look like, where you come from, how much money you have, what you’ve got going on at home – that’s no excuse for neglecting your homework or having a bad attitude. That’s no excuse for talking back to your teacher, or cutting class, or dropping out of school. That’s no excuse for not trying.
Where you are right now doesn’t have to determine where you’ll end up. No one’s written your destiny for you. Here in America, you write your own destiny. You make your own future.
That’s what young people like you are doing every day, all across America.
Young people like Jazmin Perez, from Roma, Texas. Jazmin didn’t speak English when she first started school. Hardly anyone in her hometown went to college, and neither of her parents had gone either. But she worked hard, earned good grades, got a scholarship to Brown University, and is now in graduate school, studying public health, on her way to being Dr. Jazmin Perez.
I’m thinking about Andoni Schultz, from Los Altos, California, who’s fought brain cancer since he was three. He’s endured all sorts of treatments and surgeries, one of which affected his memory, so it took him much longer – hundreds of extra hours – to do his schoolwork. But he never fell behind, and he’s headed to college this fall.
And then there’s Shantell Steve, from my hometown of Chicago, Illinois. Even when bouncing from foster home to foster home in the toughest neighborhoods, she managed to get a job at a local health center; start a program to keep young people out of gangs; and she’s on track to graduate high school with honors and go on to college.
Jazmin, Andoni and Shantell aren’t any different from any of you. They faced challenges in their lives just like you do. But they refused to give up. They chose to take responsibility for their education and set goals for themselves. And I expect all of you to do the same.
That’s why today, I’m calling on each of you to set your own goals for your education – and to do everything you can to meet them. Your goal can be something as simple as doing all your homework, paying attention in class, or spending time each day reading a book. Maybe you’ll decide to get involved in an extracurricular activity, or volunteer in your community. Maybe you’ll decide to stand up for kids who are being teased or bullied because of who they are or how they look, because you believe, like I do, that all kids deserve a safe environment to study and learn. Maybe you’ll decide to take better care of yourself so you can be more ready to learn. And along those lines, I hope you’ll all wash your hands a lot, and stay home from school when you don’t feel well, so we can keep people from getting the flu this fall and winter.
Whatever you resolve to do, I want you to commit to it. I want you to really work at it.
I know that sometimes, you get the sense from TV that you can be rich and successful without any hard work -- that your ticket to success is through rapping or basketball or being a reality TV star, when chances are, you’re not going to be any of those things.
But the truth is, being successful is hard. You won’t love every subject you study. You won’t click with every teacher. Not every homework assignment will seem completely relevant to your life right this minute. And you won’t necessarily succeed at everything the first time you try.
That’s OK. Some of the most successful people in the world are the ones who’ve had the most failures. JK Rowling’s first Harry Potter book was rejected twelve times before it was finally published. Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team, and he lost hundreds of games and missed thousands of shots during his career. But he once said, "I have failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed."
These people succeeded because they understand that you can’t let your failures define you – you have to let them teach you. You have to let them show you what to do differently next time. If you get in trouble, that doesn’t mean you’re a troublemaker, it means you need to try harder to behave. If you get a bad grade, that doesn’t mean you’re stupid, it just means you need to spend more time studying.
No one’s born being good at things, you become good at things through hard work. You’re not a varsity athlete the first time you play a new sport. You don’t hit every note the first time you sing a song. You’ve got to practice. It’s the same with your schoolwork. You might have to do a math problem a few times before you get it right, or read something a few times before you understand it, or do a few drafts of a paper before it’s good enough to hand in.
Don’t be afraid to ask questions. Don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it. I do that every day. Asking for help isn’t a sign of weakness, it’s a sign of strength. It shows you have the courage to admit when you don’t know something, and to learn something new. So find an adult you trust – a parent, grandparent or teacher; a coach or counselor – and ask them to help you stay on track to meet your goals.
And even when you’re struggling, even when you’re discouraged, and you feel like other people have given up on you – don’t ever give up on yourself. Because when you give up on yourself, you give up on your country.
The story of America isn’t about people who quit when things got tough. It’s about people who kept going, who tried harder, who loved their country too much to do anything less than their best.
It’s the story of students who sat where you sit 250 years ago, and went on to wage a revolution and found this nation. Students who sat where you sit 75 years ago who overcame a Depression and won a world war; who fought for civil rights and put a man on the moon. Students who sat where you sit 20 years ago who founded Google, Twitter and Facebook and changed the way we communicate with each other.
So today, I want to ask you, what’s your contribution going to be? What problems are you going to solve? What discoveries will you make? What will a president who comes here in twenty or fifty or one hundred years say about what all of you did for this country?
Your families, your teachers, and I are doing everything we can to make sure you have the education you need to answer these questions. I’m working hard to fix up your classrooms and get you the books, equipment and computers you need to learn. But you’ve got to do your part too. So I expect you to get serious this year. I expect you to put your best effort into everything you do. I expect great things from each of you. So don’t let us down – don’t let your family or your country or yourself down. Make us all proud. I know you can do it.
Thank you, God bless you, and God bless America.


I personally don't see where the controversy is. I am not a Obama supporter or anti-Obama. I am anti government getting in my business in any way. I am a supporter of educated people. If you are intelligent you are a whole lot more likely to think it through rather then listen to the Rush's of the world.

Ottar
Who is hoping that Roseville High is making the students watch the speech.

Thursday, September 3, 2009

WOW More Unka Arnie is a screwup!!!

OK So this is a fed job why are we so short handed? Our budget is in the tank so we need to rely on the federal government to PULL US OUT OF THE FIRE as it were. So this is an emergency hire. Pulled it off of Craig's List this afternoon. Of course with the luck I have been having it could be a scam.

Fire Fighter/ Fire Crew Emergency Hire (Davis, Sacramento & surrounding areas)


Date: 2009-09-03, 2:56PM PDT
Reply to: jobs.firecrew@gmail.com [Errors when replying to ads?]



Fire Crew- Emergency hire. Please read all of the following information:

Why are we hiring now?
We are currently performing an Emergency hire due to the large amount of un-contained fires in California and the lack of resources available to fight them.

What is a Fire Crew?
We are an organization that is sub-contracted by The United States Forest Service; we are a Type-II, On-Call Hand Crew whom is dispatched by the Forest Service and whom responds to wildfires across the western United States. We have been a successful organization for over 20 years and have fought forest fires as close as Lake Tahoe, and as far as Montana & New Mexico. Each of our nineteen person crews consists of a crew leader, three squad leaders, four certified chainsaw operators and 11 crewmembers. A Forest Service crew boss joins the crew and is in charge/ responsible for members and operations throughout the duration of each fire we are dispatched to (we have immediate dispatches pending).
Our season typically starts in late May or early June and generally concludes in late October or November (depending on the fire season and the needs of the Forest Service). However, because of the extensive amount of large fires currently threatening our state we are doing an additional hiring this following week and will be sending additional crews out as soon as Sep. 14 (possibly before).

Training:
The Forest Service will hold a mandatory basic wildland firefighting course this following Saturday and Sunday @ the national training facility located in McClellan Park (old McClellan Air Force base). This will be immediately following the physical ability test and both will be held at the same facility. This training will consist of classroom training, plus an additional day of hands-on field training. You must pass the pre-employment screening in order to be invited to the physical ability test and training. No walk-in applicants will be accepted at the training session and anyone whom does not pass the pre-screening will not be refunded or allowed to participate in any of the training.

Pay:
If you complete the classroom and field training listed above, your training will be paid. To be paid for training, you must complete ALL of the training. The compensation you will receive for the training will be between $700-$900. *Expect it to take several weeks to receive your training paycheck (usually in your first check from a fire assignment).

Your pay while on a fire varies from $13.00 - $14.40 per hour (depends on current Forest Service wages). While on a fire, crew members will be putting in anywhere from 8 to 24 hour days, including paid travel time. The average dispatch pays roughly $1300-$1500/week. *As of now we have immediate assignments upon completion of training.

Physical Requirements:
The requirements to be a wildland firefighter for the Forest Service are minimal, but you do have to be in reasonably good physical condition. You must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age by the time of your first dispatch. If you turn 18 this month, that's fine, but you will have to wait until then before you can go on any fires. You also cannot (currently) be an active member of the United States Armed Forces.

2. Pass the Pack Test. You must carry a 45 lb. backpack for three miles in less than 45 minutes. We will administer this pack test on the first day of the basic wildland firefighting course (ie: this weekend and probably next weekend as well).

Conditions of Employment:
There is absolutely no illegal drug use, no alcohol consumption, and no sexual harassment tolerated by the Fire Crew while on a Fire dispatch. Using drugs, drinking, or harassing anyone on (or not on) the Fire Crew will result in immediate termination of employment. Additionally, all fired employees must turn in all of their gear to the crew and provide their own transportation home (this could be quite a distance). Also these people will never be eligible to return as an employee to our crew or the Forest Service!

Application Process:
Because of our time restraints and urgent need to hire we will be asking all interested (and presumably eligible) applicants to initially participate in the Forest Services “pre-employment/ background screening”. This will provide us with information/ confirmation that is necessary to move forward with an applicant (per Forest Service policy). We will be inviting the first 100 applicants that have been cleared by the pre-screening process to take the physical requirement test. This test will be held this Saturday, 9/5 and classroom training will start immediately after. We encourage applicants to promptly complete the pre-screening process in order to get an invite to this Saturday’s testing/ training (first 100 with clear backgrounds only). There may also be will an additional 100 invited to the following Saturday’s testing and training as well (not definite at this time).

*Background screenings will confirm and/ or deny the following:
- Any felonies
- DUI within the last year
- Any sex offense
- Previous drug charges

Every applicant cleared of these infractions will be eligible! Only the first 100 will be invited to physical testing and training!

*Please note:
This position is a very good way to gain experience and get “your foot in the door” towards a career in the fire service (particularly with the Forest Service). If interested, Please respond via e-mail and follow the directions provided for the “pre-employment screening”.

*You must be available to leave immediately following the completion of your training and be gone for up to 14 days…If this is not possible please do not apply.

Thank You for your time, we look forward to seeing you!

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Spammers to the light

Well another bottom feeder came to my attack Warning to friends involved


SPRINT INBOUND CALL CENTER $15.50/h (SACRAMENTO)


Date: 2009-08-31, 6:21PM PDT
Reply to: job-ju8rp-1352455472@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?]


SPRINT IS LOOKING TO FILL NEW OPENING AT OUR CALL CENTER IN RANCHO CORDOVA.


POSITION: GREETER. POSITION REQUIRED YOU TO ANSWER PHONES AND TRANSFER THEM TO THE CORRECT DEPARTMENT.


EXPIERENCE: WE DO NOT REQUIRE A LOT OF EXPERIENCE FOR THIS POSITION BECAUSE IT IS A PRETTY SIMPLE TASK.
HOWEVER, EXPIERENCE IN A CALL CENTER SETTING IS PERFERRED. CUSTOMER SERVICE ISKILLS ARE A MUST!!


START DATE: IF SELECTED, YOU WILL BE STARTING ON MONDAY SEPTEMBER 7, 2009.
WE ARE LOOKING TO FILL THESE POSITIONS ASAP!!!


TO APPLY PLEASE SEND YOUR RESUME TO sprintrecruit@rocketmail.com

  • Location: SACRAMENTO
  • Compensation: $15.50/h
  • Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
  • Please, no phone calls about this job!
  • Please do not contact job poster about other services, products or commercial interests.




PostingID: 1352455472

Filed an email.a t about 10:00 last night, thais was in my email when I got up at 5:30:

Hello!! Thank you for applying for the Greeting position here at Sprint™. After reviewing your resume, we are happy to inform you that we would like to hire you as a Greeter at our Rancho Cordova call center!
The position begins September 7, 2009. Your first week will be training and you will need to arrive to work at 8:30am. Further details will be given when you are contacted by an HR representive within the next 24 hours.
Please Click Here to fill out the online job application. Please give the phone number that you will like to be contacted on within the next 24 hours.
Thank you once again and welcome to the team!!
Peggy Dills,
Sprint HR Manager

I clicked on the link and it asked me the usual battery of questions that were included on the resume but then they asked me for my SSN Drivers license number and DOB. Then on the next page they said that since they did direct deposit they needed my bank information. Ottar may be a touch slow but he aint that dumb my scam alert sensors having become well honed in a year of unemployment were triggered into a deafening crescendo. I went back a page and deleted what I had put in there and hope it is good enough. Then I sent her the following reply...

You know what is amazing? That you think someone who is savvy enough to use the internet will fall for a scam like this that asks for a SSN and banking information online. Of course the 1% that fall for it probably pay your ill gotten gains. I am forwarding this email to local law enforcement and hope that something is done so I can sit across from you in court while I testify against you. PS I checked with Sprint they do not have a Peggy Dills working for them in any capacity in their company.
Jamie Allen

Monday, August 31, 2009

I can tell he is quaking in his tennies!!!

We received a official letter today from the school informing us that Stephen is now on probation for this quarter after a review of his fourth quarter last year. This means he cannot go to extra curricular no foot ball games or dances. Which he attended religiously last year. Yeah Right. Trying to get him interested in going to a dance was like getting him to brush his teeth. Why bother. So as Stacie says he is being punished for last years transgressions this year. I wonder what they are going to do when they see his lack of use of their summer School system. Will it then be "double secret probation"?

this is our tax dollars at work? I am going to assume that he has at least a masters degree but the Roseville High website has no information on his qualifications. And a google search for him brings up nothing. But he is educated enough to forbid my stepson to go to dances and football games this quarter. That kind of makes me think of the punishment for ditching school. If he wont come we won't let him. So since he doesn't go to the games or dances they won't let him. Such effective discipline. Of course my opinion of the effectiveness of the Roseville high school system is really low.

He did so poorly last year to put him on probation this quarter. And when he started this year he was scheduled for PE (Phys Ed for you Yankees who may read this), Peer helping (a touchy feely type class), Tutorial (study Hall) and cooking. A schedule so light on academics that I wondered if they were trying to make his GPA positive number. I mean show up and dress out and you will get a passing grad in PE. Of course that was too much to do for him last year.

So his mother (bless her heart) took him out of PE and put him in World Studies so he has at least one academic course. Boy howdy did that piss him off. "We ruined his life" according to him. Well so far he is actually doing OK in that class.We shall see as grades come out but the online book shows him as not missing any assignments. We are keeping our fingers crossed.

Sunday, August 30, 2009

Unka Arnie loses this roll

He gambled on taking air tankers off of contract and made them a call per fire deal. they cast more for 3 days (the minimum they can be called out for) then they would cost for a week of standby and use. Thee is a fire right now in Auburn ( 1/2 an hour up the hill from where I live.
The link for it on the news station is:
http://www.kcra.com/news/20636210/detail.html
They currently have eight air tankers currently on the fire. I also hear 3 helicopters are in use. Watching the fire on the news is a definite Aw Shit situation. It is right now at about 800 acres in the junction between rural and urban areas. A lot of peoples houses re currently burning. High temperature, high winds, and low humidity.

I don't think it actually saved the state any money this time. Well I guess it is a good thing that no one is out running a suction dredge in that area.

Friday, August 28, 2009

Is what is going on Constitutional?

Gotta love John Silveira. He writes for Backwoods Home magazine which i have been reading for years and subscribing to for 2 years now. His series on "The Coming American Dictatorship" is one that makes my libertarian leanings go "PING". His latest installment is at:

http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/silveira119.html

It just really pisses me off when the federal government hijacks the constitution for its own good. And then we as Americans by inaction allow it. I was pissed off at the bailouts going on around me, I was pissed that now we the people own a large chunk of Chevy. It started when we bailed out Chrysler back 20 years or so ago. Yes Lee Iaccoca brought Chrysler through and paid back the loan, but it was a terrifying precedent. What happened to capitalism? If you make a bad decision you go out of business. If you make good decisions you get a profit. Wow, Darwinism in action. Of course the gas companies were criticised for making gas prices so high last year to their profit. But the decision to charge what they did was criticised but NOT illegal. The feds didn't get their panties is a knot over that!

So if bailouts are not specifically powers granted by the constitution then they are not allowed by the federal government. The constitution states that powers not given to the federal government are not allowed to be used by the federal government. So where does it say they can bail out failing car manufacturers? OK I didn't vote for Obama because i dislike both him and McCain who I did not trust either. I voted third party knowing as I cast it that it was a wasted vote. But by the Gods we need to take a stand against our current government.
Remember it was Tom Jefferson that did much more then "play the violin" (again extra points if you get the quote..I bet Mary does)wrote "the tree of liberty must be watered with the blood of patriots". Now I do not advocate armed insurrection. But as Admiral Bob has stated in Starship Troopers the vote is the most power that a human can exercise. You may not think your vote counts but it is not like some of the elections we have seen on the news lately. or in Florida in recent memory. YOUR VOTE COUNTS!!!!
The only failure is lack of trying! My opinion if you do not vote you have no right to bitch about the outcome. If you are eligible to vote do so. There may not be anything you want to vote for then for Gods sake vote against the issue. If you are too lazy to go down to the polling place register as an absentee voter and spend the stamp to vote. That's the way me and Stacie do it. If more of us had gotten off our collective duffs prop 8 wouldn't have passed and many of our friends would have been still able to marry. voter turnout could have changed that election.

I am so disgusted with my government
Ottar

Wednesday, August 26, 2009

You know your old when.....

This morning i went to the gym for my workout. No really I did, stop laughing. I was unaware of Senator Kennedy's passing. I found out during my workout. Right about the same time the next screen flashed an ad for swimming lessons their at the gym. that hurt. Good thing I wasn't drinking that was spit take material there. And of course I had no one to speak to until I was walking out. I had to ask it they were having Ted Kennedy memorial swim lessons. The blank look made me feel OLD. Then when I explained it she got it, and told me that was wrong. And then just continue out the door. So with tears in my eyes I went off into the sunset.
Then more wickedness crossed my mind:
What we need to do is get Mythbusters to do a honorarium episode.
Here you go Senator:
http://mythbustersresults.com/episode72

Maybe if a bunch of us flood their website with requests they might do it. After all they seem to have a Graethorne style sense of humor.

Bad Ottar
Again no biscuit

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

I guess I aint got it so bad

At least I wasn't sold!

http://www.wdsu.com/news/20548703/detail.html

And there is no real possibility that I will be eaten. OK I understand the reasoning behind what has happened. And as a sound manager it does need to be done no matter how distasteful. I guess I am glad that they were not forced into the sex slave industry. But unfortunately i found out too late to go to Louisiana in time to buy my own.

Why does the tune to Scotland the Brave go through my head right now?

Ottar
feeling sheepish

Monday, August 24, 2009

What is the world coming to?

I am aghast. The city of Green Bay Wisconsin just did something they have not done in the 142 years of incorporation. They have hired a African American police officer. Oh My Gawds who would have thought something like this could happen. I mean a little redneck town will keep a drug addicted quarterback like Brett Favre on their football team would actually take another step down the liberal highway by hiring black cop? The NORML website

http://www.norml.org/index.cfm?wtm_view=&Group_ID=4573

says that any possession of any amount of any amount of marijuana is good for six month in jail for the first offense. Yet they kept Brett (who has become a traitor by retiring and going to the Vikings) as an admitted addict. Wow they are going liberal. Next thing you know it will be legal to import cheese from Switzerland.

OK you should know by now that I am not a racist and this was a tongue and cheek look at what was considered newsworthy in Green Bay. Maybe I look at things a bit differently but cannot figure out 2 things here:
1 Why did it take 142 years to do this.
and
2-Why was that considered newsworthy?
Maybe the city did not get sued for equal rights. Or maybe it was like when I was in second grade and asked my mother why we had no black students in our school. She replied that was because there were no black people living in our part of Maine. But the population of Green Bay is 7% according to the news.
Congratulations to Soloman Ayers the new officer.

Ottar